Project 3 Photodesign

P3MakenziHolland

  1. Description: This is a project where I took high quality photos, edited them in Photoshop to be more vibrant, and added text and other visuals to improve the photo.
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): DSLR Powershot SX520 camera used for photos, Photoshop used. First i checked out a camera from the library and then took a few photos from around campus, then I walked up toward my apartment which is right by the temple. I got many quality shots from both areas, but especially the temple. I brainstormed ideas from all the photos I took that had potential for an interesting design piece. I sketched my ideas. Then I chose a Tetradic color scheme because most of those colors were already in the photo. I used the ellipse tool quite a bit in Photoshop. I increased  the vibrance and contrast to the photo to brighten it up and make the colors pop.
  3. Message: Kind of obvious, but “Families are forever” is the message, and you can do that at the temple in the picture.
  4. Audience: Younger teens, age 10-16, Young Women/Men age The bright colors in the design on the right make it a piece for a younger crowd, but it stills looks polished which is appropriate for the temple and the setting
  5. Top Thing Learned: I learned an important point in editing pictures. That is to make a copy of the picture so you can edit it without damaging the original. I also learned a bit more about using a more professional camera than just my smartphone. I learned how the changes in the edited photo can make a big difference and they aren’t huge complicated edits either.
  6. Color scheme and color names: Tetradic color scheme used with Green, Yellow, Purple, Red
  7. Title Font Name & Category: Merriweather Regular, Oldstyle
  8. Copy Font Name & Category: Sarina Regular, Script
  9. Thumbnail of original, unedited image insertedVisual Media PhotoShoot 048
  10. Date and location you took the photo(s): Monday February 2nd 2:30-4:30, Rexburg LDS Temple, BYU-I campus, Devotional.
One thought on “Project 3 Photodesign

  1. Morgan McKinney

    Hey Makenzi! I really love how your design turned out. One thing I love is the temple coming through the trees. I think it really stands out well. Also, the color scheme works with the theme and overall look. I like the colors you chose and I think it all works well. Also the text of “Forever” you chose looks really nice with the other text. Great job!
    Here is a linkback to another classmates blog: https://elissemaynez.wordpress.com/2015/02/05/project-3-photodesign/

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

