Women's Day

Thoughts on International Women’s Day

I am so happy that we could have a day that celebrates the effect that women have on our world. Women DO make a difference and I think it’s ever important that we realize this. Women are the victims of violence and mistreatment more than ever before and this is one way that societies and people are turned against each other. Why would women be victims if they are truly “not important” as some people and cultures believe? They are important and they are being targeted in many ways that are overwhelming. Women have a profound role, no matter where they are. Women are divinely designed to be kind and nurturing and caring. They are the glue to a family, it’s too bad that less and less people want to start families because its not popular or it is seen as a menial task to bear and rear children. Women are meant to be forces for good. I mean all these things in the most loving and caring way possible. It hurts me to see so many good women in my life who have supported me and helped me grow to be the person I am today, and how the world has trained society to downgrade us and bombard us with the pressure to be just beautiful, just a pretty face and judged only by our appearance. That’s just in America. In other places, women are seen as inferior and just not important at all, given no rights and no opportunities to make something of themselves. They are restricted to being servants of the man. They are married off at young ages and given no education. This feels wrong! Not because I have grown up a different way than them but because we are equals. There are only two genders, how could nature of God have made on of the two inferior? Women are amazing! they can build life and bring families together to be healthy, strong, and loved. When you kill a woman, you kill a whole potential generation that could have been. I watched a few TED talks today and one really got me thinking about all this. Its called “How I work to Protect Women From Honor Killings” by Khalida Brohi. This video made me think of how hard it is to change a culture. We can’t just go out and call out other peoples beliefs and there customs, but we can give the right tools to people who are affected by those customs so that they break the tradition and start the change for the coming generation. I can’t propose any solutions except the ones already given, such as training women on skills that help them to become empowered and independent, but I wish that more people would be sympathetic to the role of the woman in today’s society. It’s hard out here for us, so much pressure from every side to be perfect, to be conforming, to not be judged. I believe that man and woman are equal but different. I believe we do have certain roles that help relationships stay balanced; yes they may be traditional, but that is not downgrading, its beautiful! Child-rearing is something women are good at! It is a privilege to take care of the small souls God has given us, to nurture them so that they grow to become their own person. Its beautiful. I believe women should be educated and have the power to be self sufficient and independent. I also believe that man and woman are meant to be together and that marriage is ordained of God and divinely designed. I believe that we should let men hold the door for us sometimes too, because they need manly validation as well. It’s okay to let chivalry live and be your own woman! I know this post has been all over the place, but I hope it brings a new view to an already talked about topic. I do not mean to offend anyone in any way, I am just sharing some thoughts and views I have had in the past few days and some of my own beliefs. I hope you can accept that and step away with something. Happy belated International Women’s Day too 🙂

Leave a Reply

